neWMW

My solution for quality gaming on a U3 USB stick

with 6 comments

I’ve tried a lot of the games available for the U3 USB stick, but none of them really seemed to give me the relaxation I needed after a lot of hard work at the campus computers of the University of Amsterdam. And since I’m kind of addicted to my ZSNES Super Nintendo Emulator, I decided to use Package Factory to make a U3 install for it.

snesvintage

It’s very simple. Step one: Download ZSNES Windows version. Step two: drag the zsnes.exe into the Package Factory window. Step three: Choose install from your harddrive from the U3 launchpad. Get yourself a couple of roms and put them on the U3 drive -of course only from SNES games you have in your possession- and you’re set to go! I’ve heard that other emulators (for example GBA) also work.

Also a short update on my personal experience with the Smart Drive. I’ve been using it intensively on campus and besides a sometimes long startup period, it has been very ideal for me. Now I don’t have to use that annoying Internet Explorer anymore, I have Firefox always ready with my personal plugins (del.icio.us, wordpress.com) which is a big advantage. Besides that I use it a lot for syndicating content with my home computer.

Any points of critique? Some, because I think development of the applications is still a bit slow. What I would like to see is more use of programs like Package Factory so people can create their own (freeware) programs from existing ones and post them on the web. This would stimulate the community around the medium.

By the way, It’s good to see prices are going down for the U3 sticks with a higher capacity, because more capacity might mean larger applications and I’m anxious to see what that can bring us.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How about MAME-32 ? I have tried to convert it to u3 compatible format, but I didn’t manage to make it work. Anyway that looks like a cool idea to me! Those boring hours in front of my work computer can be much more joyful!

    Panagiotis

    February 15, 2008 at 7:09 pm

  2. Yea, Mame is a good idea!! I’ll look into it…

    newmw

    February 16, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  3. Any luck with the MAME U3 emulator? I haven’t gotten this to work either, but I console myself with the Sega Fusion emulator on my U3 drive….

    ScatCat

    March 31, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  4. Hey, just letting you know I’ve got it working.

    Convert the MAMEUI32.exe to the .u3p format using the converter, then go into ur U3 drive and go into :\System\Apps\XXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXX\Data

    System will be a hidden folder, so make sure you have the explorer’s “show hidden folder” option turned on, and the random letter named folder will contain MAMEUI32.u3p, so look through all of the folders until you find it. You’ll know what I mean.

    If you go into the Data folder, it only has MAMEUI32.exe in it, so copy and paste all of the other needed files to run the MAME into that folder.

    That’s pretty much all you have to do, let me know if anyone else succeeds!

    Hamana

    April 23, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    • You can just copy the extracted MAME folder to any flashdrive. You don’t need to have U3

      Caka

      September 23, 2009 at 1:37 am

  5. Nice! Worked on mine too, great!

    newmw

    April 23, 2009 at 7:49 pm


Leave a Reply

