neWMW

Create your own U3 USB stick applications

with 26 comments

Thanks to a comment from Seth on my last post about U3 USB sticks, I got the following tip about Package Factory: An application you can use to create U3 installations from your own applications, and install them on the U3 USB stick. I tried it on various programs and it all worked. You just need the exe and if necessary the required DLL, click the ‘create’ button and there you have it! Your own program on your own U3 stick. You can download Package Factory for free from http://www.eure.ca.  Check out the full comment by Seth below and don’t forget to check out his very interesting weblog on politics and more at www.mirroreddecadence.com.

“There is a program called Package Factory (can be found at http://www.eure.ca/) that, when used, can “fool” the u3 program into thinking that the install is a u3 application. You need the appropriate .dll and the .exe file, but it works! I can run my GBA emulator like a u3 program instead of exploring the drive and going to the folder and opening it from there. Great little program. And it’s FREE!”

Written by newmw

August 16, 2006 at 9:52 pm

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Create your own U3 USB stick applications Thanks to a comment from Seth on my last post about U3 USB sticks, I got the following tip about Package Factory: An Filed under Games by Sol Dowdal. Permalink • Print • Email […]

  2. Thanks for the props – I’m looking for feedback on what could be improved in the program so don’t hesitate to drop me a line.

    Eureca

    August 18, 2006 at 9:06 am

  3. Does this need to be installed?

    Bob

    February 2, 2007 at 4:56 pm

  4. Yes actually, install it and then just imput the files of the programme of your choice. Maybe you can even install Package Factory itself on U3, haven’t tried that yet.

    newmw

    February 11, 2007 at 11:47 am

  5. Great tip! I wanted NVU U3

    Sam

    April 24, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  6. Wow! I have been wanting something like this for a while for the same reason the first poster left-my emulators! If I can convret my GBA and SNES emu’s with this and all works as advertised, then you have come up with one of my favorite apps of all time and I will purchase it, like I do with all apps that I like. I am not a thief-if something I doenload is worthy I will purchase it. Thanks for the great product!

    Jonah

    May 23, 2007 at 7:54 pm

  7. I bought a usb key with U3 software on it 2 days ago. Thanks for the tip about Package factory software on eure.ca . For information, I successfully installed FactoryPackage on my usb key within U3 package… very handy

    Tony

    May 25, 2007 at 1:34 pm

  8. Thanks for this great program! This is a very convenient program so far. Oh yeah, I like that it is free to use. =D I have InfranViewer and a few other programs. Now I don’t have to go through my folders to start my programs, and they are all portable, Yay! Thanks again for this.

    Kamek5

    July 12, 2007 at 7:50 pm

  9. That’s great

    Utku

    January 8, 2008 at 2:49 am

  10. You can find a lot of applications created for U3 over at:

    http://u3.desiblogs.co.uk

    Give it a visit, will save you time!

    U3 Applications

    January 21, 2008 at 6:41 pm

  11. Great software, Ill be able to put my favorite programs and games on Thanks alot.
    This will be good forever one

    Ant

    April 22, 2008 at 7:30 am

  12. Thanks this does work i’ve so far installed 2 apps on u3

    once again, thank you

    Ringleader

    October 30, 2008 at 12:30 pm

  13. What’s even better is using package factory from the U3 drive. I’ve started using Package Factory and Universal extractor both from my U3 drive. This way I can add apps from anywhere.

    Steven

    December 18, 2008 at 8:56 pm

  14. Yes, Package Factory can be installed on u3. Just copy the package factory folder from where it is installed to somewhere else, run package factory and drag the files into package factory.

    Stu

    January 6, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    • It looks easy but somewhere something went wrong.
      I do not see the icon next to the PackageFactory.exe file in the removal disk of the stick.
      Double click on this u3p did not startup Package Factory: “Windows cannot open this file”
      Dragging the “exe” and “dll” files together the result was also negative.
      Can you tell me was is going wrong?
      Thanks a lot

      nono

      October 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm

  15. If the program you are trying to install to U3 runs mainly off the registry it won’t work. Like for instance, Microsoft Office.

    Stu

    January 6, 2009 at 10:48 pm

  16. hi!
    great idea! But which DLL do I need for transfering the exe file (e.g picasa) to my u3 usb drive?
    Rafi

    rafi

    January 19, 2009 at 9:22 pm

  17. i am trying to create a portable version of carmageddon 2 for u3 but it keeps saying the message cant find .exe even though it is installed on the drive.
    does any one know how to create it so it works on u3?

    thanks

    squadass99

    February 25, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    • @squadass99 perhaps you could try the manual u3 package compiler? if you i think the problem is with a virtual drive (so for example, carmageddon expects to run from an optical drive).
      @rafi you have to use the manual compiler (you can find it in the same programme, there should be a button that brings you to a manual compiler). there you can add multiple dll’s – if you make sure you add all dll’s, it should work. if not – then it might not work.

      newmw

      February 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  18. so where could i find a manual compiler?

    squadass99

    February 26, 2009 at 2:23 am

  19. This article help you how to create apps for U3 driver

    http://anhblog.net/software-application/how-to-create-apps-for-u3/

    www.anhblog.net

    April 7, 2009 at 6:03 am

  20. The manual compiler is also in the Package Factory programme, there should be a menu-item that leads to it.

    newmw

    April 7, 2009 at 10:08 am

  21. Anyone knows how to do a folder with for example videos as a application on the U3?

    Kingpin

    April 19, 2009 at 3:05 pm

  22. Yeah thanks. Nice one!

    Left Gangster

    June 4, 2009 at 12:20 pm

  23. There is a problem.

    The program didn’t make The App for U3, The computer doesn’t recognise The apps.

    Alex

    August 13, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    • Hi Alex, did you include the .dll files when using the Package Factory U3 app?

      newmw

      August 15, 2009 at 12:57 pm


Leave a Reply

