neWMW

U3: Install programs and games on your USB stick

with 80 comments

Yesterday I bought a USB stick from SanDisk with their new U3 technology installed. In short: U3 means that you can install stuff on your USB stick, plug it into any computer and run the program from your USB stick without having to install it on the other computer. For the long one, see this page from everythingusb.com. But trust me… it really can come in handy. Why ‘can come’ and not ‘comes’ in handy? I’m still missing stuff.

First the good part: Now I always have the U3 version of Firefox ready when I get to a PC that only has Explorer installed, like the computers at the university. Plug in the USB stick and you get the U3 Launchpad, which is actually something like the Windows Start Menu. It shows you the programs installed and gives you the option of installing new programs from the U3.com softwarepage.

Will this thing be the future as the developers like it to be? It depends. There aren’t that many programs yet and I was amazed that I had to pay up for some of the small programs. WinAMP is available on a trial version. Also, as a gamer, I’d expect some more U3 games out at the introduction of the device. Games on a U3 stick is of course not the most important thing, but extra’s like that can help it work and catch on with a lot of (younger) people. Now I still have to stick with playing online games when I’m on a university computer. But looking at the U3 website, they’re screaming for new developers to make software (or convert their existing software) for U3. So let’s hope that changes soon.

U3 is a great extra, especially if you want to use some programs that are not very common on other computers. But so far the amount of programs is lacking, that’s the bad part, and that needs to change to make it a success. And the programs that are available are also very common on almost any computer.

I want to create my own personal enviroment, and with the programs available now it seems that every U3 USB stick user has the same enviroment. Simply because there isn’t enough. Let’s see where it ends. For now let’s call it a pretty smart drive, with the option of becoming really smart.

Written by newmw

August 6, 2006 at 9:01 pm

80 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. More people talking about U3

    I keep up to date with who’s saying what about U3 smart drives to inform what I write about here and decided maybe it was time for a regular(ish) entry on the topic. I wanted particularly to acknowledge and thank the people who are trying out th…

    U3 Smart Blog

    August 11, 2006 at 9:12 pm

  2. There is a program called Package Factory (can be found at http://www.eure.ca/) that, when used, can “fool” the u3 program into thinking that the install is a u3 application. You need the appropriate .dll and the .exe file, but it works! I can run my GBA emulator like a u3 program instead of exploring the drive and going to the folder and opening it from there. Great little program. And it’s FREE!

    This program, more than anything else, has made the u3 drive handy at all times, rather than just sometimes. I was also dissapointed over the large prices for the u3 programs. If I hadn’t found Package Factory, I probably would have returned the drive. I believe that u3 is going to have a good future, and with the security update from SanDisk (I have your same model drive) you can now password protect.

    u3 is here to stay.

    Seth

    August 16, 2006 at 8:34 pm

    • I have an 8GB Flash Drive and I installed the U3 Program all the things I install had FREE written next to it, so I dont have to pay right???

      Rihanna

      September 11, 2009 at 4:49 am

  3. That is a great program, thanks! Also tried it on the GBA emulator and worked, that’s pretty amazing. The fact that you can actually make your own U3 programs is great, I think this might just be the thing that was missing. If they add this to the standard package when sold, U3 is definitely here to stay.

    newmw

    August 16, 2006 at 9:25 pm

  4. […] Thanks to a comment from Seth on my last post about U3 USB sticks, I got the following tip about Package Factory: An application you can use to create U3 installations from your own applications. I tried it on various programs and it all worked, you just need the exe and if necessary the required DLL, click the ‘create’ button and there you have it! Your own program on your own U3 stick. You can download Package Factory for free from www.eura.ca.  Check out the full comment by Seth below and don’t forget to check out his very interesting weblog on politics and more at http://www.mirroreddecadence.com. “There is a program called Package Factory (can be found at http://www.eure.ca/) that, when used, can “fool” the u3 program into thinking that the install is a u3 application. You need the appropriate .dll and the .exe file, but it works! I can run my GBA emulator like a u3 program instead of exploring the drive and going to the folder and opening it from there. Great little program. And it’s FREE!”   […]

  5. Is there a way of making any USB drive into a U3 Drive?

    GameOn

    September 26, 2006 at 3:08 am

  6. If I’m correct Sandisk has an installer for U3 which is available at http://www.sandisk.com/Retail/Default.aspx?CatID=1411 I haven’t tried it myself though.

    Another option is a program called Ceedo, available at http://www.ceedo.com/ But Ceedo does have a trial period.

    newmw

    September 26, 2006 at 11:24 am

  7. Guys! I tried to make MSN messenger to be installed on my U3. But, i’m not able to do so. Can anyone from you help me out in this, how i can conevert the MSN into my U3. Thanks in advance.

    Andy

    June 21, 2007 at 9:05 pm

  8. I also didn’t succeed at putting MSN messenger on the U3. But Trillian (http://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABLE-SOFTWARE/Internet/Chat/Windows-Portable-Applications-Portable-Trillian.shtml) is a very good alternative to having a U3 messenger. No converting has to be done, and you can also just install it through the U3 start menu. Skype by the way is also available for U3.

    newmw

    June 25, 2007 at 12:39 pm

  9. Thanks buddy!
    But i already have these programs. But if you know how can i convert any another program to u3. Please let me know. I will appriciate.
    Thanks again!!

    Andy

    June 29, 2007 at 12:14 am

  10. Guys! i have tried MSN live from U3 and it works fine. But, when i try on another pc it gives error. I don’t know why? I have 2 pc’s and from 1 pc I converted MSN and its working very fine on that one, but not on my another pc. Does anyone have any idea, why this is happening?
    Please post if you have any ideas. Thanks guys!

    andy

    July 3, 2007 at 3:18 am

  11. That’s semi-good-news 🙂 It could be that MSN needs to be installed locally. The ‘power’ of U3 is that all is installed on the USB drive, requiring no extra install on the system itself. But MSN reads some files automatically from i.e. the windows folders. I’ll try and check it out, if I have a solution I’ll let you know.

    newmw

    July 3, 2007 at 9:32 am

  12. GOOOOOOOOODDD NEWWWWZZZZ !!!!!NEWMW! I got it 🙂
    MSN LIVE works very fine on U3. Actually there is one fine in system32 folder of windows (sirenacm.dll) you have to use that file as well while converting the MSN thru pakage factory software. That works and you also have to configure sound files, then it works as simillar on PC. If you have any questions let me know.

    andy

    July 4, 2007 at 2:33 pm

  13. …….here is one file in system32 ………

    andy

    July 4, 2007 at 2:36 pm

  14. hey, i am despretly try to get msn on my u3 and i am do not complety understand all of these suggtions. if some one could put directions that would be amazing, and any help would be greatly appreceated, thanks

    sam

    August 17, 2007 at 12:21 am

  15. Okay sam, these are the steps I tried for getting MSN on U3 (edit: this guide is still not perfect since it does not work in every situation, thereforeit provides the first steps, please add any suggestions in the comment section below to get MSN Messenger on U3)

    Edit: this one isn’t correct, see below for the correct way to get MSN on U3

    First:
    Download PackageFactory at http://www.eure.ca and install it. As you can see in order to create a U3 program PF needs an executable and a dll. Now we’re going to find the files.

    Second:
    First we’ll do the executable. Go to the directory where MSN is installed and look for the .exe file. Add it to PackageFactory

    Third:
    Then the .dll. It’s called ‘sirenacm.dll’ and its in the Windows/System32 directory. Add this file also to PackageFactory

    Fourth:
    Compile the program using the two files and PackageFactory. It’s very easy, just follow the program.

    Fifth:
    Go to your U3 console and add the program with the install function on your U3 drive. And there it is!

    Any questions? Let me know.

    newmw

    August 17, 2007 at 9:59 am

  16. um, just one quick question. After i put the .exe file and i am putting the sirenacm.dll file it say’s ” No top- level exe file present in dropped files!” so i am not sure wich exe to use if u have a name for the exe that would be helpfull. Any way thank you for all your help so far

    sam

    August 18, 2007 at 7:22 pm

  17. Thank you so much newmw,i just got my u3 yesterday, and my brother unisntalled msn of the pc.lol so ty

    mission

    August 18, 2007 at 8:01 pm

  18. But wait, when i press on the msn button, it says intalizing under it, but it doesnt pop up.

    mission

    August 18, 2007 at 8:04 pm

  19. sam wat you do when package factory opens click on Drop Exe here. when a window pops put the exe file and the sirenacm.dll file there. highlight both then click open. Then click create. then install.

    mission

    August 18, 2007 at 8:47 pm

  20. @mission: I see the problem mission, when I tried to login again I got the same problem. I’ll see if I can work around it in some way. I’m thinking that it requires another MSN dll, because it seems now that I have uninstalled MSN on my computer that it doesn’t initialize anymore.

    @sam: the executable file is called msnmsgr.exe in the MSN Messenger folder (although you perhaps don’t see the exe behind it, it’s got the messenger icon in front of it). What mission says if you get that message, first make sure that you have both files in 1 directory, highlight them both when you use PF and then add em together. Then click create.

    newmw

    August 18, 2007 at 9:10 pm

  21. Oh! now it works great! thank you to everyone for all your help

    sam

    August 21, 2007 at 1:13 am

  22. Hi, i tried wha was suggested above with dll and the msn exe but it still dosent work, any ideas of what i shuld do?

    Savy

    August 21, 2007 at 9:48 am

  23. try adding sirenacm.dll + all the other .dlls tht u can find in the msn messenger folder. its quite a no. of dll. i had the same problem where the ‘initializing’ word appears but nothing happens & msn doesnt load. tried redoing n converting the exe + all the dll i mentioned. its working ok now.

    svelte

    September 2, 2007 at 5:08 pm

  24. I tried svelte’s option and it seems to work now. If it is steady I’ll post a complete how-to.

    newmw

    September 3, 2007 at 5:22 pm

  25. This should work for getting MSN Messnger on U3

    First:
    Download PackageFactory at http://www.eure.ca and install it. Click on Advanced Mode (down-right corner) and then ‘Host Folder’ tab. In the host folder you can put the DLL and EXE files required. Now we’re going to find the files.

    Second:
    Click ‘Add File’ and you’ll be able to select the files. First we’ll do the executable and DLLs from the MSN directory. Go to the directory where MSN is installed: usually /Program Files/MSN Messenger). Look for the msnmsgr.exe file and all the DLL files in this folder, there are a lot of them. Use CTRL to select all the files one by one. After you got these all selected click open.

    Third:
    Do the same again (‘Add file’ in the Host Folder tab) and look for the file called ’sirenacm.dll’ in the Windows/System32 directory. Add this file also to Host Folder list.

    Fourth:
    Compile the program using the two files and PackageFactory. It’s very easy, just follow the program.

    Fifth:
    Go to the ‘Summary’ tab and click ‘Create U3P file’ and save the file where you want it. Then open your U3 launchpad and install the U3P file. And there it is! You might get a message from MSN that it isn’t able to save settings, but that’s no problem; you can still use the program.

    If anyone can confirm that this also works on a computer without MSN pre-installed, I’d like to know!

    newmw

    September 4, 2007 at 10:33 am

  26. LOL, you can put package fatory on U3. YAY

    Richard Harwood

    October 20, 2007 at 1:50 pm

  27. sorry guys! i didn’t check the forum from so long. Thanks Newmw for explaining all this. But, in case anyone need more info. Please drop me an e-mail at andy81p@hotmail.com, i will let you know what to do..
    Newmw : There is not need of MSN to be installed on Pc. I means no need of pre-installation of MSN. If you have it in your U3 it work fine, only thing is you will not be able to listen the sounds of the MSN. For that MSN need to be pre-installed atleast one time and need registry files. I tried to remove registry files and i loose all the alerts. But, if i keep the registry files and manualy configue the sounds the alerts work perfectly. I dropped my mail in you can contact me anytime.
    Have a nice time..
    Cheers!!! 🙂

    andy

    October 23, 2007 at 9:12 pm

  28. Works for me, it even workes with patches!

    Thnx Henkie

    Henkie

    October 24, 2007 at 12:50 pm

  29. Guy’s
    I installed MSN also spoke up more then I am not getting uninstall it is showing an error message.
    It asks if I want to uninstall the program so that when I give OK appears the following error message, “Uninstal of MSN.u3p failed.”
    Any solution?

    Gildasio

    October 29, 2007 at 8:57 pm

  30. Anyone here uses Windows Live Messenger version 2008? I mananged to install it on my U3 thumbdrive but i can’t launch it. When i click on Windows Live Messenger nothing happens. Please help!

    messenger

    October 31, 2007 at 7:36 am

  31. @messenger: It should work if you add all the MSN dll files into the u3 install package. Follow all the steps in my comment above and you should be fine, even with the newest versions.

    newmw

    October 31, 2007 at 12:29 pm

  32. @Gildasio: How about if you try to re-install it and then uninstall again? Keep me updated!

    newmw

    October 31, 2007 at 12:37 pm

  33. My MSN directory which is C:\Program Files\Windows Live has 2 folders, installer and messenger. Inside the folder messenger, there is another folder called Device manager and inside it there’s another folder called Loc, all the folders i mentioned above all have dll files in them. So far i have only tried adding dll files from the messenger folder and the installer folder, and there a file with the extension .manifest it has the logo just like dll files. Should i add that file too?

    messenger

    November 1, 2007 at 2:37 am

  34. anyone have idea how can do the same with yahoo messenger on U3. I don’t know the associated dll files of yahoo. thnx

    andy

    November 14, 2007 at 8:47 pm

  35. im trying to use a more recent verison of trillian pro but i can’t get it to work.. was wanting to know if anyone could tell me the important dll files need to be combined with this.

    David

    December 12, 2007 at 4:53 am

  36. Hey guys, I have never been to this site but I was very pleased. I was having the same issue as many other people and this site cleared it up for me, so thank you. Specifically Newmv and mission.

    Ruey

    January 8, 2008 at 3:15 am

  37. @Ruey, thanks!

    @David, I think the best way to use trillian pro on U3 is through the ‘regular channels’, they do release updated versions. Version 3.11 is available from Sandisk: http://u3.sandisk.com/download/Download_no.asp

    newmw

    January 8, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  38. I am thinking about trying Microsoft Word on this. . .

    You think it will work?

    I have Word 2007 but I will check it out.

    Thanks for the program in the first place

    themacuser10410@aim.com

    January 19, 2008 at 9:32 pm

  39. Well, theoretically Word 2007 should work if you have enough space on your U3 USB drive 🙂 The challenge would be to find the correct DLL files and add them to the Package Factory program. I’ve been trying to look up a DLL file list, but didn’t have any succes… yet.

    If I come up with anything, I’ll let you know. If you have any solutions, I’d love to hear them too.

    newmw

    January 19, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  40. i just bought this usb with u3 technology. at first i thought i can install any program on this. after i read through this, i am kind of getting an idea. now, i am trying to install MATLAB program to this drive. do you have any idea to install this program?

    ming

    January 25, 2008 at 5:06 am

  41. MATLAB should (not tested yet) work if you put the whole installed folder in Package Factory and attach all DLL’s files found in the folder and make it into a U3 install package. This is quite similar to the MSN install. So:
    1. Download Package Factory (see link above)
    2. Put installed folder into Package Factory
    3. Put *all* DLL’s found in the folder as DLL in Package Factory
    For detailed instructions on Package Factory, check the comments above. Hope this helps! Did you by the way just try to put the folder on your U3? Because when it doesn’t need locally installed files, that *could* work too.

    newmw

    January 25, 2008 at 12:27 pm

  42. Im trying to do the same thing with my flash drive, I bought it because i thought that i could install any programs from it, and run it on any computer,
    have you guys done it yet??

    Will

    February 5, 2008 at 7:02 am

  43. hey,

    i use msn lite on my u3 it works great

    my english very poor so this is all

    msn lover

    March 4, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  44. Hey, I need to know how I can convert a NON-U3 Device into a U3 Device.

    I am prettu computer savvy and I have only just recently heard about this, so if someone could provide me with links to backup files that are on partitions of the drives, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks to anyone who helps me!

    Also the program that you guys are using is illegal. But it can only be legally used if you ask the writer of the software for permission, and if you accept all of the risks to converting it.

    But a backup file of a brand new (or old, it doesn’t really matter) U3 device would be amazingly appreciated!

    Rusty

    March 5, 2008 at 6:30 am

  45. If I’m correct (haven’t tried it myself), check here: http://www.sandisk.com/Retail/Default.aspx?CatID=1411
    It allows you to install the U3 launchpad.

    But why would the tool be illegal? Mainly: It is just a tool you can download to convert software to U3. And most importantly it allows you to make your own software into a U3 package. On here are just tips and ideas on how to create programs.

    newmw

    March 5, 2008 at 9:49 am

  46. trillian pro is not working at their site; I couldn´t download it properly.. Does anybody know what´s the problem? 😦

    maya

    March 11, 2008 at 11:53 am

  47. I’ve installed MSN into my U3 disk. It loads fine, but when I try to sign in, it shows me a message of error about my firewall. Any suggestion?

    Salo

    March 13, 2008 at 10:11 am

  48. @ Maya: Trillian Pro should work fine, at least.. I tried and it works, so I guess if you try again it should work now.

    @Salo: That is a problem that solely has to do with your firewall (try it on another computer, and it should simply work). So, don’t know what firewall you have, but with every firewall you can easily adjust the level of security. Lower it a bit, and it should work, don’t forget to put it back up when you’re done.

    newmw

    March 13, 2008 at 11:14 am

  49. Thanks for all the information on this page, although I’m having issues to get this to work!! I would really like Windows Live Messenger on my U3 stick but cant seem to get it to work!! I can create the U3 file, and install it, but cant run the program. I can then only uninstall once I remove the stick and replace it again. I have also tried VLC Media player but with the same issues!! has anybody else had this problem?? any suggestions would be appreciated!

    Am I being stupid?? should there be something inseterted in the data folder and device folder?? if so, what?? and should the ‘this application is not u3 compliant’ box be ticked/unticked??

    thanks

    apples

    March 21, 2008 at 12:33 am

  50. hello, is it possible is you can print screen and tell me step by step how to install MSN on U3

    umar

    March 28, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  51. would really appreciate thislast request too if someone could spend the time?? Im still having major issues, even with other software. Just doesnt seem to be creating big enough files for me! the U3 files are coming out at around 15kb?!? A detailed description of how to create any program using PackageFactory would be great? cheers

    apples

    March 29, 2008 at 6:50 pm

  52. Does anybody just have the msn messenger u3 package zipped and up for download? I still can’t seem to get mine working in the office. I get an error message when I try to install it.

    Blacklotus

    April 9, 2008 at 7:20 am

  53. how do you find the dll links of a program….i want to make a U3 version of AIM and i do not know what the dll links of the program…..i also need help with using the PAckage FActory…can someone post a vid on youtube demonstrating how to do this???..thanks

    timmy

    April 16, 2008 at 1:56 am

  54. It was too great to browse in tis page … Its kind of disappointed when realize tat so called U3 software doesn’t satisfy the hunger needs for most of user. Claps for neWMW ~ cheers !

    James

    April 17, 2008 at 5:59 pm

  55. I was wondering, does anyone know how/if you can get Yahoo Messenger? I just got the new U3 8gb Flash Drive yesterday and would like some tips or something, ive messed with it while i was at school and it seems to be really cool.
    Thanks

    Jonathan

    May 7, 2008 at 7:23 pm

  56. […] ive got a 4gb Cruizer and found this website a while back. U3: Install programs and games on your USB stick neWMW Check out the 2nd post regarding this software eure.ca You can basically install any program onto […]

  57. Okay i get this whole package factory thing, its i have no idea what u mean by .dll files??? is there a way i can get the files in a folder by you uploading it i would be very grateful its just i can’t install msn on my computer, so cant go into a directory that doesn’t exist ta

    HELP!

    May 28, 2008 at 11:22 am

  58. if u guys got Msn Live to work on the U3, why not upload the u3p. install file?

    if u can zip it, and send by e-mail ?

    or does it contain info about your own adress (‘s) and Password. *Wondering*

    KayjaaY

    August 6, 2008 at 9:30 am

  59. Well, there are two objections KayjaaY (unfortunately)
    1. It would be copyright infringement because then you’d be distributing the software, which is highly illegal.
    2. Yes, it would contain personal info’s.

    As for some of the other questions posted earlier. I think I can’t explain it more clearly than I’ve already did, yes, you do have to be a bit tech-savvy in order to get it done, but it’s no high-class AJAX programming either. So, if you’re looking how to get it done (it’s possible, I’m still using it), just read some of the comments above. If you have examples of other programmes that worked, just post ’em here, thanks!

    newmw

    August 6, 2008 at 1:54 pm

  60. thank you fore the quick respons, i guess ill have to try again..

    my windows came with msn live pre-installed,

    c:/ Programfiles/Windows Live (and 3 folders) /1.installer 2.messenger 3.photo Gallery

    Installer has no xtra folders, but messenger has xtra, as shown below;

    ~/messenger/Device manager/Loc/ ~and in here there are 19 folders with numbers
    (all have *dll in them)

    could this be the reason why the standard soloution is not working fore me.. ?

    KayjaaY

    August 7, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  61. Hi Guys i bought a stick

    Geoff

    August 14, 2008 at 1:31 pm

  62. Hey Guys, just tried Visual Studio C++ Express from Microsoft on my usb stick using Package Factory …i got in the app ok; but havent tried any compiling or anything…(yet)

    whammy bar

    August 29, 2008 at 7:02 pm

  63. nevermind, it was only the installer exe…so still unable to confirm if the full app can run off the usb…i doubt it can

    whammy bar

    August 29, 2008 at 8:24 pm

  64. i create portable apps for usb,i have created 100’s of apps for u3 and portableapps.Anything is possible all you have to have is a bit of pc knowledge

    programs you must have is thinstall and a virtual pc and a little knoledge of working with .ini files.

    dablakmark8

    September 7, 2008 at 9:11 pm

  65. sorry and you need u3 shortcut creator.

    dablakmark8

    September 7, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  66. Hey guys if you want to install any app. on a thumb drive that will work on any PC check out http://www.mojopac.com
    MoJoPac is free and works great only problem is it doesn’t work with Vista yet but they are working on a new version that does.

    Jay Halase

    October 15, 2008 at 6:00 am

  67. hey the msn massenger works for me
    and thank you every one for your help.

    BUT
    there is a way that i can do the same with ICQ?
    cus i can use pidgin or Trillian
    but i can use SMS maggeges to friends on my list there
    and with the normal ICQ i an do it.

    so any one have a good idea how to make ICQ work on my U3?

    asixd

    November 7, 2008 at 12:19 am

  68. hi i am trying to get games on my use but it does not work.i need your help?thank you

    sean

    November 12, 2008 at 12:51 am

  69. Can I save my configuration in the usb also? coz i don’t wanna type in the email and pw every time

    Dan

    November 17, 2008 at 8:13 am

  70. I was wondering whether it’s possible to install something like the Sims 2 on a USB stick and to be able to play it that way (instead of having to install it on your computer as well). Thanks in advance. I’m sorry if it’s a silly question.

    Elanor

    November 30, 2008 at 7:27 pm

  71. yeah i was wondering the same thing about the sims 2 to the usb myself. becuz i really need to be able to take it with me

    La' Meri

    January 21, 2009 at 2:02 am

  72. Hey,

    I also got a cruzer stick butta i cant uninstall msn. This is the same problem Gildasio had:


    Guy’s
    I installed MSN also spoke up more then I am not getting uninstall it is showing an error message.
    It asks if I want to uninstall the program so that when I give OK appears the following error message, “Uninstal of MSN.u3p failed.”
    Any solution? ”

    As he/she said, Any solutions??

    Tha Shiznit

    January 24, 2009 at 7:25 pm

  73. One small thing that should be mentioned…

    I’m not sure if this was mentioned or not, but there’s a cool program called “PackageFactory” that allows you to convert .exe programs into .u3p (U3) programs. To get it, just go to “http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/01/07/convert-and-make-applications-compliant-and-run-on-u3-usb-flash-drive-with-packagefactory-for-u3/” and it’s over there. Works wonderfully for short-and-sweet programs. I pretty much am adding all types of programs.

    Just to counter “I want to create my own personal enviroment, and with the programs available now it seems that every U3 USB stick user has the same enviroment” 😀 So, how different do you think mines is?

    By the way, if you got any more complex programs that don’t work, than just google on how to add programs for u3 and you might find something (I used a couple of different words, and found something different that I yet haven’t tried yet AND I found all this stuff on first page).

    M Dragon

    April 10, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    • Hi M, thanks for your comment, interesting! Actually, this blogposting was one of the first on the U3 environment on the web and another one here on PackageFactory –
      https://newmw.wordpress.com/2006/08/16/create-your-own-u3-applications/. A tip from the creator of the app himself.

      So I have to say that a lot has changed since then, so much that it would validate a new post on the technology perhaps. In the beginning (Genesis-like..), applications were very scarce for U3 and it really looked as if it could go either way: a success or a failure. I think, balancing both, that U3 has become a moderate success, allowing users to actually create their own environments instead of having a limited amount of options.

      I think the platform would really flourish if they’d actually endorse PackageFactory – allowing users to create their own programmes. However, that would be mean a lot of legal issues since building on / changing software most of the time isn’t legal (yay! for open source I say 🙂 )

      newmw

      April 10, 2009 at 4:54 pm

  74. I just bought a U3 stick, cuz i have a game named ”Call of Duty” what i want to play on more computers etc. , but when i press ”Add programs” i cant add it. but the site of U3 says i can only add some games of the http://www.U3.com and that is not what i want, is it still possible to put my OWN game on the U3 stick and play it on other computers? please help me out!

    Jeffrey

    June 3, 2009 at 10:46 pm

  75. Is is possible to install U3 to an Kingston USB-stick? It is an USB-stick from 16GB.

    bart

    June 7, 2009 at 12:07 am

  76. Just do a Google search for portable apps. It’s a proram that can do all of this, is completely free (along with all the programs) and isn’t attached to a name brand.

    It’s easy as can be to install programs on the disk. Right now I’ve got Doom, Doom 2, Quake 2 and Starcraft on there and they all work on any computer I plug my drive into.

    Sum Yun Gai

    June 29, 2009 at 8:46 pm

  77. When I tried to package a small ( xcopy.exe from MS ), I got this error:

    “Cannot create file C:\Program Files\PackageFactory\Cache\E98F611E-56F3-4AB7-9A53-6D54F0EA815F\xcopy.ico”

    Can anybody help it out?

    ( I have another program (a.exe) that can be packaged with PackageFactory, that program had no a.ico either).

    Thanks a lot. Charlie

    Charlie

    June 30, 2009 at 6:11 am

  78. I’m looking to use a standard sd card (not a thumb drive) in an embedded microchip PIC application..

    anyone know if Ceedo or U3 can be installed on any sd card? My goal is to have password protected partitions or files on the sd card, while still allowing the PIC access.

    ben nguyen

    November 21, 2009 at 7:03 pm


Leave a Reply

